FORMEL E DS TECHEETAH: on the way to more titles in 2022

Shortly after the creation of DS Automobiles in 2014, driven more than ever by daring and the desire to innovate, we put electrification at the core of our strategy. An unashamed player in energy transition, DS Automobiles was one of the first manufacturers to commit to Formula E.



Briefly, since season 2 in Formula E, DS Automobiles has clocked up 73 races, four titles, 14 wins, 37 podiums and there are plenty of great things still to come.



The racing car 2.0

Our engineers have harnessed the latest electric technology and updated almost every component for the perfect balance between innovation and reliability. The development of DS E-TENSE FE21 would not have been possible without the investment of TotalEnergies in the improvement of bespoke and highly innovative lubricants and coolants.


An identical line-up to the previous season, António Felix Da Costa and Jean-Éric Vergne will fight under the colours of the DS TECHEETAH team, in a bid for new titles at the start of season 8 of the Formula E world championship.


António Felix Da Costa, famous for his wins in Formula 3, was picked by Red Bull and Force India to test in Formula 1. In 2014, António committed to the ABB FIA Formula E championship and was crowned champion in season 6 with the DS TECHEETAH team.

Jean-Éric Vergne made his debut in karting at the age of four. In 2012 he became the youngest ever French Formula 1 driver by joining the Toro Rosso team. An exceptional talent, Jean-Éric is the only driver to have lifted two consecutive Formula E championships, in seasons 4 and 5.

THE CHAMPIONSHIP Season 2021-2022

In the hunt for world titles

Coming back for an eighth season, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is the first competition to put 100% electric single seaters in the centre of the world’s most beautiful cities. It was founded by Alejandro Agag in 2014 with the goal of promoting sustainable mobility.


RULES What's new?

According to the rules, a race lasts 45 minutes + 1 lap. The driver who wins the race scores 25 points in the championship, the second 18, the third 15 etc…, the 10th scores the last point. The principle is the same for the "Teams" championship, 3 bonus points being given for pole position and one for the fastest lap in the race.

New qualifying format

The 22 drivers will be split into two groups. The four fastest from each group will then face each other in a knock-out fight.

Faster than ever

Available power in the race will now be 220kW (vs 200kW) and will be up to 250kW in Attack Mode (vs 230kW).

More competition

Every time the Safety Car goes out, extra time will be added to the race time (up to a maximum of 10 mins).


Participate in our success

Give a helping hand to the DS TECHEETAH drivers by voting for #JeanEricVergne and #AntonioFelixDaCosta. The five drivers with the most votes will have extra power to use during the race.


1 vote per day starting 6 days before the race and up to 15 mins after the start.

Rankings DS Automobiles: a history of success

Previous results in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship

Saison Équipes Courses Victoires Podiums Poles Positions Superpoles Fastest Laps Fanboost
2020-2021 DS TECHEETAH 15 2 5 3 9 2
2019-2020 DS TECHEETAH 11 4 9 5 8 2 5
2018-2019 DS TECHEETAH 13 3 7 3 8 5 0
2017-2018 DS Virgin Racing 12 2 6 0 9 1 0
2016-2017 DS Virgin Racing 12 2 6 2 13 2 1
2015-2016 DS Virgin Racing 10 1 4 4 6 0 7
Total 73 14 37 17 53 12 13

Previous rankings in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship

Saison Équipe Classement Équipe Classement Pilotes
2020-2021 DS TECHEETAH 3ème

António Félix Da Costa 8ème

Jean-Éric Vergne 10ème

2019-2020 DS TECHEETAH 1er

António Félix Da Costa 1er

Jean-Éric Vergne 3ème

2018-2019 DS TECHEETAH 1er

António Félix Da Costa 1er

Jean-Éric Vergne 8ème

2017-2018 DS Virgin Racing 3ème

Sam Bird 3ème

Alex Lynn 16ème

2016-2017 DS Virgin Racing 4ème

Sam Bird 4ème

José Maria Lopez 9ème

2015-2016 DS Virgin Racing 3ème

Sam Bird 4ème

Jean-Éric Vergne 9ème